Second-tier clubs pit themselves against the top-flight in new-look League Cup

Four clubs from the Huws Gray Alliance and MacWhirter Welsh League will test themselves against Corbett Sports Welsh Premier League opposition, starting tonight.

The FAW yesterday announced that the new format of the League Cup will be contested under the name of TheWord Cup, with the second round commencing tonight.

The introduction of eight second-tier clubs (the top four from last season’s Cymru Alliance and Welsh League) is a welcome addition to what had become a tired a format.

Welsh League sides Bryntirion Athletic and Haverfordwest County are both home to Carmarthen Town and Llanelli respectively.

Cymru Alliance runaway leader’s Rhyl face last season’s Alliance champions Connah’s Quay, Penrhyncoch host Airbus UK.

Last year’s winners Afan Lido visit last year’s beaten finalists Newtown.

(All 7:30) Bala Town v Bangor City; Bryntirion Athletic v Carmarthen Town; Haverfordwest County v Llanelli; Newtown v Afan Lido; Penrhyncoch v Airbus UK; Port Talbot Town v Aberystwyth Town; Prestatyn Town v The New Saints; Rhyl v Connah’s Quay.

*Penrhyncoch v Airbus UK and Bala Town v Bangor City have already been postponed.

All ties are straight knockout with extra-time and penalties to be used if necessary.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s