Barry Town striker McLaggon withdraws from Wales C Squad

Barry Town have confirmed that striker Kayne McLaggon has withdrawn from the Wales C squad ahead of their forthcoming clash with England C on March 20.

McLaggon would have been in line to have started the fixture at Barry Town’s Jenner Park having scored 12 goals in his debut WPL season.

The 27-year-old limped off with an ankle injury during the first-half of Barry’s recent 4-1 win over Llandudno, and his club have tweeted that an MRI scan has since revealed that the former Southampton striker faces a spell on the sidelines.

Wales C manager Mark Jones is set to call up a replacement this weekend ahead of the squad getting together on Sunday 18 March.

It is also believed Connah’s Quay midfielder Jay Owen has also withdrawn from the squad.

Jones’ counterpart Paul Fairclough has named an initial 16-man squad for the game, with a further 18 listed in a contingency group should they be required.

It will be England’s first game at this level since they were beaten 4-0 by a strong Slovakian U21 side in the International Challenge Trophy final last November.

The England C squad is made up of players aged under 23 who play in the National League System.

Goalkeepers: James Montgomery (Gateshead), Grant Smith (Boreham Wood)

Defenders: Louis John (Sutton United), Daniel Jones (Barrow), James Jones (Chester), Sam Ling (Leyton Orient), Joshua Stanton (Woking)

Midfielders: Ryan Croasdale (Kidderminster Harriers), James Hardy (AFC Flylde), James Kellerman (Aldershot Town), Robert Ramshaw (Spennymoor Town), Joshua Rees (Bromley), Thomas Walker (Salford City)

Forwards: Jason Gilchrist (Southport), Daniel Maguire (Blyth Spartans), Fejiri Okenabirhie (Dagenham & Redbridge)

Contingency squad
Goalkeeper: Brandon Hall (Kidderminster Harriers)
Defenders: David Ferguson (York City), Fraser Horsfall (Kidderminster Harriers), Kane Smith (Boreham Wood), Jordan Tunnicliffe (AFC Fylde), Alex Wynter (Maidstone United)
Midfielders: Charlee Adams (Dagenham & Redbridge), Jake Gallagher (Aldershot Town), Mitchell Pinnock (Dover Athletic), Josef Wheatley (Darlington), Daniel Whitehead (Macclesfield Town)
Forwards: Samuel Barratt (Maidenhead United), Luke Coulson (Ebbsfleet United), Morgan Ferrier (Boreham Wood), Joe Leesley (Harrogate Town), Joshus Koroma (Leyton Orient), Jarratt Rivers (Blyth Spartans) Thomas Wright (Sutton United)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s